5 things I learned from my Dad

Fishing ain’t for sissies, but it is for girls..

I remember my seven year old self bursting with pride as I caught my very first trout at a fish farm. My Dad even made me watch as they cleaned the fish and then we ate it for dinner. I was a little horrified but still game to continue fishing. As I got older we fished at rivers, lakes and dams. He even taught me how to fly fish. It wasn’t until I was a lot older that I realized that most Dad’s took their son’s fishing, not their daughters. I feel like even then he was showing me that I could do anything.

Diversify your life…

Camping, photography, skiing, music, racing, archery, flying…there wasn’t much that my Dad hasn’t seen, done or pursued as a hobby. He liked to try new things. He worked hard and played hard during his free time. He never let the dust settle on his feet.

Show Affection…

My Dad hugged me frequently. He always told me he loved me and he hated the word goodbye. We never said goodbye we said see you later. The last time I saw my Dad he was dropping me off at the SLC airport. He openly cried and told me how much he loved me. He expressed his gratitude that I visited him with two small children in tow. It was a beautiful expression of his love for me that I didn’t appreciate at the time.

Own up to your mistakes…

Occasionally he would drag his feet but he always apologized when he was in the wrong. I remember a few times he came and said “I shouldn’t have lost my temper. I’m sorry.” He set a great example for all of us on being humble enough to recognize our errors and repent.

Go Big or Go Home…

Whatever my Dad pursued in life he went at it full throttle. My Dad joined the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints as a teenager. He studied the Book of Mormon and was called on a 2 year mission to Canada. He dedicated his time to understanding the gospel principles. He served many people on his mission and throughout his life. He wasn’t perfect. But he was Focused. He had a goal and he wouldn’t quit until he was satisfied that he understood all that he could about the gospel of Jesus Christ. He applied that same focus to every aspect of his life. He pursued knowledge like most of us pursue new gizmo’s. He wouldn’t move onto a new hobby until he was certain that he had gleaned every tidbit about his current hobby. He lived the mantra, ‘Never Stop Learning.’

It’s been three years since my Dad passed away. I think of him frequently. And even though it gets easier that doesn’t make me miss him less. It doesn’t make me stop wishing I could talk to him or share things about my life with him. I am grateful for the time I had with my Dad and for the knowledge that one day I’ll see him again.

Airman_Basic_Apr1979

3 thoughts on “5 things I learned from my Dad

  1. Oh my gosh! You made me cry! I remember when you lost your dad…It was so sad. 😦 What a wonderful tribute to him. And you know what, even though you can’t share what is going on, I bet he knows…

Make my day by commenting here!

