Jace the Face

I fell of the blogging band wagon. I hope to do better from now on. So I feel like a recap is in order. Or a catch up in this case.

My husband decided it was time to leave the Army and transition into civilian life. So we moved to the in-laws the day after Christmas. We had our darling baby girl on Jan 23rd. And we moved again to a new city in northern Colorado in May. In August Princess turned 8 and she was baptized. I feel like this year has been nothing but big changes and our family trying to cope with it all.

First a birth story. Mostly just posting this for me. Feel free to skip this part.

Towards the end of my pregnancy I was diagnosed with Gestational Diabetes. I failed the first glucose test. The second test I threw up right after I finished drinking the nasty glucose. So disgusting. Of course I threw up right in front of my good friend Angie. Who was also pregnant and also having a girl. Nothing brings women together like shared vomiting.

I was pretty uncomfortable and miserable. To add to this I can’t have sugar or chocolate to comfort myself. There was cheating on my birthday. Of course. I had to have raspberry truffle cheesecake from the Cheesecake Factory. DUH!

My doctor said he would induce but at the last minute he couldn’t. He was going out of town for vacation. I was so disappointed. I saw him Jan 22nd and I went home practically in tears. I thought this baby is never going to come out. I will be pregnant until she’s 18. Totally normal dramatic thinking caused by stress and hormones.

That night I went to bed pretty dejected. I woke up around 2 am to go to the bathroom. Again totally normal when there’s a baby pressing on your bladder 24/7. I noticed I had lost my mucas plug. I did a pregnancy happy dance and then woke up my husband. Maybe I would have the baby in a few days I thought. Hope filled me. I wouldn’t be pregnant forever. I tried to sleep but I was having mild contractions and I was too excited to sleep. I got up to take a shower. I was singing Uptown Girl by Billy Joel in my head.

I painted my toenails (a death defying trick when you’re 38 weeks pregnant) and went back to bed. 20 minutes after I laid down I felt like someone had pulled the plug on the bathtub full of water. It was definitely a glug, glug, glug sensation. I thought, ‘Did my water just break?’ Then I felt a trickle between my legs. I got out of bed as quickly as I could so I wouldn’t leak on the mattress. (Not cool Dave.)  I woke up Joel again and said we needed to make tracks to the hospital. Of course we got to Fort Carson right as every Army person is trying to get to PT. (Mandatory Exercise Time) Traffic was practically at a stand still. By this time my contractions were getting intense and seemed to be traveling down my legs. Also I was soaking wet. Not a comfortable car ride.

When I went into the hospital there was a trail of water behind me. Also a huge puddle of water on the wheelchair. I felt mortified and wanted my epidural badly. When I made it to the maternity ward the head nurse checked me. She confirmed my water was indeed broken (cause you know all that water on me was a fake out) and she said I was dilated to a four. There may have been a curse word said by me at this point. I confirm nothing. I was worried I wasn’t going to get an epidural in time. Princess had come very fast and I had her naturally. I did not want to repeat that experience. AT ALL.

But lucky for me the maternity ward wasn’t busy. So I got a room, and got an epidural pretty quickly. And at 1:23 pm on 1.23.2013 I gave birth to Jace Sylvia. She weighed 8 lbs 4 oz. My biggest baby. I was so grateful she came two weeks early. Otherwise I would have had a C-section.

Image

And so the caboose of our little family made her beautiful debut.

2 thoughts on “Jace the Face

Make my day by commenting here!

