The perils of the pool

This summer I’ve been a bit unmotivated. The Army Man can’t have any vacation time until August, which is when the kids go back to school. So all those wonderful vacations plans have gone up into smoke. At least this is my excuse for being a bit bummed and unmotivated.

Yesterday I took my little yahoo’s to the pool. But the first pool we went to was full and wouldn’t allow more people in. The second pool was open. Gleefully the yahoo’s and I dove in for some summer fun. Just a few minutes into our fun they called for a 10 minute safety break. Princess then declared that actually she did need to go to the bathroom. A few minutes went by and I thought to myself  “I should go check on Princess.”  Just after that thought crossed my mind, my name was blared across the PA system. They wanted me in the main office.  Princess cried a little and squealed “Mommy!!!” as I came into the office. The lifeguard explained that Princess thought she had lost me. I told Princess she did the right thing by telling an adult and telling them my full name. Even if I was baffled as to why she would think she lost me.

An hour later Princess stubbed her toe and started bleeding. She cried because she didn’t want to stop swimming but we had to stop for a little while so she could get a band aid. It was a fun and a little traumatic for our first summer adventure.

And I’m going to try to be a better and more frequent blogger. What about you? Any funny or disaster summer adventures?

p.s. Dude was unaffected by our misadventures. He had a great time and didn’t want to leave the pool.

2 thoughts on “The perils of the pool

  1. When I was a kid growing up in Colorado, my dad rarely took summer vacations. My mom took us every day to the Reservoir: Cherry Creek or Chatfield. We would pack up a pic nic lunch and floaties and spend nearly every day there. We have many awesome memories of doing that even though it was never “officially” a vacation. Kids can find joy in the simplest gestures. Have fun with it girl.

  2. Your children think a plastic tote full of water, 3 dogs, 2 cats, and a hose is great fun too. Sorry for the sunburns, I think they washed off the sunblock.

Make my day by commenting here!

