Not so Newlywed

The Army Man and me @ Garden of the Gods
At our church, Tuesday night, we played the “newlywed game” with two other couples. One couple had been married 26 years. One couple had been married 12 years. The Army Man and I have been married 9 years.  And we won the game by five points! To celebrate we split a piece of red velvet cake. Hmmmmm…delicious!
A few of our silly answers. They asked me what values or qualities I had that the Army Man married me for.
As you can see I took this question very seriously.
They asked the Army Man what his ideal date was.
My husband is super in love with anything to do with electronics. So his answer isn’t really that shocking.
At the end of the game they asked each of us to give marital advice to the Young Women in our church. I said that marriage is much like a roller coaster. It’s intense, it’s scary, it’s fun, it’s exciting and you never know what’s around the next bend. So you need to make sure that your with someone who’s in it for the long haul and not someone who is going to bail at the first unexpected drop.

7 thoughts on “Not so Newlywed

  1. I like your roller coaster analogy! Great answers to the questions…what I want to know is what the OTHER person said for those questions 🙂

  2. The Army Man’s response to that question was that you needed to make sure that you had spiritual confirmation that you should get married beforehand. And he did. =)

    The others said that you need to be friends because sometimes that the only thing that carries you through. One said that you need to date a lot. And one said that you shouldn’t compromise your values. It was all good advice. Just very ironic that the Army Man and I won.

  3. But HUGE difference between an actual rollercoaster and the rollercoaster that is marriage is that for an actual rollercoaster, you have a harness to lock you in place 😛

    And Army Man’s advice is fantastic.

  4. I’ve always wanted to play a newlywed game… I think Josh and I are predictable enough we could really do well. Love the picture of you guys. 🙂

Make my day by commenting here!

