In which I tell you everything and nothing…

I bought a Shark Navigator vacuum this weekend. Mainly I bought because it was A LOT cheaper than the Dyson. It’s light weight and it’s very quiet in comparison to my old vacuum. So far I’m impressed with it’s performance. Dude has named it Super Purplelicious.

My sister Britt came for a visit this weekend with her two boys. She took my two kiddos plus her two, to see HOP. While I es-scap-ayed to see Arthur with my friend Amanda M. I thought Arthur was really funny and as long as you don’t compare it to the original you’ll really like it too. Pinky swear. However Britt said HOP may have done some permanent damage to her brain because it was so terrible. But all the kiddos loved it.

At church, on Sunday, we had a lesson on Honesty. I realized that probably 90% of the lies people tell (read me) are about perception. We want people to see us in a good, superior, happy light. We want people to believe that we’ve got all the bases covered. So here is the thing I’ve been trying to keep hidden for the last, oh, ten years. I am a closet slob. I don’t mean that just my closets are dirty. It’s my whole house. My whole house usually looks like a complete DISASTER. Dishes don’t get washed for many moons. Dirty clothes piled up to the ceiling. Trash that should have been taken out days and days ago. But here is the trick. I will clean if I know someone is coming over. I spend at least two days doing nothing but cleaning before someone comes over to my house. Then when friends and family see my house they “perceive” that I am a good housekeeper. HA!

I have tried to break the cycle of cleaning like a maniac for days and then zero cleaning. But I have yet to successfully break my bad habits. I know that if I just cleaned for 20 or 30 minutes a day I could save myself a lot of worry. Because I do spend a lot of time worrying about people showing up at my house unannounced. Because obviously I don’t want others to perceive that I’m the world’s worst home maker. They would condemn me as I condemn myself. I have plenty of time to clean. I use my time unwisely. I know perfectly well what needs to be done. Yet I still choose to do otherwise.

Hi my name is TK. Let the record so note that I am a slob.

7 thoughts on “In which I tell you everything and nothing…

  1. It’s hard to break old habits but doable if you really have the desire. Maybe you could arrange for someone to come visit you every day and then you would develop the habits to clean up, pick up and put away.

    My mother was an amazingly disciplined woman and I very much appreciate that she taught all her children to work even though when I was young I really disliked doing all those house chores. My mother started her day by setting a good example for her kids, she was always dressed and had her bed made before she left her bedroom, unlike me who last Saturday spent the whole day in my pajamas. (cleaning house)

    Everyday of the week had a purpose. A day for laundry, a day for baking, another for ironing, Saturday was always for cleaning. Everything we ate and that we wore was pretty much homemade….She was an amazing woman.

    There are days when parts of my home look like a disaster but I find that it causes me great unrest and unhappiness, I feel more in control when at the end of the day all is tidy.

  2. I too, am a slob. As is my hubby. But, the only person I pick up for is my mom and sister! I started to feel overwhelmed by our mess this winter, and thus am taking strides to reclaim my house. Well, maybe baby steps. Strides don’t seem to stick πŸ™‚ I have a friend who occasionally gives me guidence, and she suggested to look into the FlyLady. I don’t know that I have that much dedication though! I’d rather play with my kids than clean my house πŸ˜€

  3. Hello closet slobs
    I am officially out of the closet
    Just think of it this way, We live here. We do not pay more attention to what people say about us than what they say to us.
    That said, I ditched my home teachers Sunday because my house was sooooooooooooo thrashed I could not bear to have anyone looking at it.
    I guess I’m not that far out of the closet.

  4. Hello, fellow closet snob πŸ™‚ Luckily for me, though, I married a clean freak so it evens out well enough in the end. (And poor Matt gets the short end of the stick!) I’m better about keeping things clean when everything is organized underneath, but if I have a disorganized closet, for example, somehow that translates into a dirty bedroom with clean clothes in baskets and dirty clothes all over the floor. And I don’t even have kids, so I have zero excuses!

    On another note, your new vacuum looks lovely. Maybe if I had a cute vacuum I would use it more πŸ™‚

    • I couldn’t agree more Ashley. I can’t cook in my kitchen unless it’s clean. It’s completely distracting to me and somehow interferes with the chef process.

Make my day by commenting here!

