The reality of a deployment

If your a military brat or spouse then you KNOW that everything I’m about to tell you is 100% true. It can be verified by asking anyone in the military. Sure the details might vary on a case by case basis. But for the most part we military families know these facts to be true.

The very moment your spouse steps foot onto foreign soil something in your household will break. Don’t believe me? Let me catalog the things that have broken in the last 7 months. The battery had to be replaced in the car, the printer died, the Wireless Router kicked it, the rice cooker met it’s maker, and the vacuum caught fire. And let us not forget the Valentines Cell Phone Debacle of 2011.

You’ll spend at least half of your spouse’s deployment waiting in line at the Post Office. You can fill out a customs form in your sleep and you know exactly how much junk important stuff you can fit into a flat rate box.

Paying the bills, child rearing, filing taxes, car maintenance, cleaning the house, and the never ending cycle of laundry are your sole responsibility. LUCKY! You don’t get a break or a time out. And if the children are sick, there is no back up. You are the LONE RANGER. Except you don’t get a fast horse named Silver or a spiffy mask.

Sometimes you have to make decisions without your spouse’s input. Especially since the Army Man is sleeping when we are awake. Occasionally the nature of a situation just doesn’t give you time to wait for a consult with your spouse. You learn to make hard and fast decisions and then abide by the consequences of said decisions.

While the home life of a military family isn’t a cake walk I certainly wouldn’t want to trade places with the Army Man. He bears the brunt of the hardships while I just try to keep the home fires burning.

And not to fear there are some perks. The power of the remote control is mine and mine alone. (Insert wicked laugh here) No one leaves their dirty clothes right next to the hamper instead placing them directly inside the hamper. *cough. ARMY MAN. cough* Ahem. Sorry I must have something stuck in my throat. =) I am the lucky recipient of all the kisses and hugs from my kiddos. I get to see them grow and learn. I don’t have to hear about it second hand and see them grow in pictures and videos.

Besides all the work, the many appliances failing, the fact that the Army Man is on the other side of the universe…yeah it’s not all that bad.

*Did you catch that subtle sarcasm?*

7 thoughts on “The reality of a deployment

  1. Look at all the wonderful things you’ve learned to do!

    And all while Army Man is busy trying to defeat enemies of freedom and justice in your name and for all the rest of us.

    What an honor to be able to say, “I am an Army wife.” We are very proud and thankful for your service to our Nation. Hooah!

  2. Although new to the military world, I find myself nodding my head along with your words so far. You’re an inspiration to me! You rock girlfriend. For reals. And totally diggin the pic. Smiling is overrated anywho!

  3. Lucky for us, we know that everything we experience makes us who we are. And since you’re pretty darn awesome we’ll just be thankful for what life has dealt you so far 🙂

    LOVE the pic and can’t wait until my kiddos are old enough to “get” what we’re doing to participate!

  4. Deployments are tough. It takes a strong, trusted woman to get through it. I’m sure Army man is grateful for all you do. I was fortunate, when my dh went to Bahrain on deployment, it was before children so I didn’t have that added responsibility. But it was so dang lonely!

Make my day by commenting here!

