Brace for Impact

Do you, ahhhh.. speak Star Trek? One of my favorite lines was always given by Riker or Warf. Whenever the ship was in trouble (and the ship is ALWAYS in trouble) Riker would get on the intercom and say, ALL HANDS BRACE FOR IMPACT!

To me this phrase is an all encompassing warning. Trouble to follow. Stranger Danger! Get thee hence! But that’s not what Captain Jean-Luc Picard and crew would do. They followed TROUBLE like it was their religion. Never wavering until the problem was solved or the episode was continued. Because eventually one way or another the problem MUST be solved. The characters and the story cannot progress if they can’t overcome.

What does it all mean? That Star Trek is deeper than we all thought. =) Or that there is a message in Star Trek. A message that repeats in every single episode. STAY THE COURSE. Fight the good fight until the Borg board the ship and you have to push the self destruct button.

What is it exactly that I’m trying to say? I’m going through something. Past tribulations are dogging me and generally making a nuisance of themselves. I desperately want to let go and move on. I’m taking baby steps to do so. But it’s difficult for me to forgive 2010 when it was so flipping HARD on me.

Why am I telling you this? Because my life isn’t perfect. Never has been and it will never be. I don’t want to pretend for one more second that everything is just peachy keen. As Warf would say…”Captain I protest. I am NOT a merry man.”

*This post was previously published on my Old Blog. This post is dedicated to my wonderful cousin Jennifer.*

13 thoughts on “Brace for Impact

  1. If someone had told me sooner that there were all these great inspiring messages in Star Trek, maybe I wouldn’t hate it so much πŸ™‚ Keep hanging in there, Tobi! We love you πŸ™‚

  2. I know what you mean. I have two friends right now who are going through trials I would never wish on anyone – and both of them thought these particular trials were over. I’m sorry that you’re going through your own. I send you peace from afar. (I’m trying to sound like a Star Trek character. But I don’t think it’s working.)

  3. Dang. Star Trek has go some goooood messages to learn from. I should speak Star Trek more often! Hang in there, girlfriend, whatever you’re going through. You’re a strong woman.

  4. This is my first time on your blog, but I just can’t help but comment on a great Star Trek analogy.

    And I hope 2011 is much better than 2010 for you. Just remember “steady as she goes” works for both life and starships.

  5. I have always known that Trek freaks are in the know. How many times have you wanted to stun one of your kids for a few minutes, take your dinner right out of the simulator , or step into a room that will take you away from it all? If I could look like Seven-of-Nine, I’d go there too. Alas, I fear that I’m just a regular Red Shirt and they don’t last long in the Trek world. I’ll stick to my own universe and hang around with Tobi.

Make my day by commenting here!

