Home for the Holidays

Snow and ice have left their calling card this fine Monday morning. Dude and Princess did not want to get up until I showed them the Winter Wonderland outside. The shrieks of joy could be heard for miles.

***

Thanksgiving was wonderful. I brined a Turkey. Alton Brown gave me the necessary confidence to brine without fear. You need to try a Turkey this way. The meat was so tender and juicy. It’s ruined me for life. I’ll never eat another dry Turkey.

Of course I was remiss and didn’t take any pictures of my family on Thanksgiving. Instead I took pictures of my Table-scape. My sister in law Rachelle takes a picture of her pretty table every year. I confess to stealing a few of her ideas. And I really must thank Rachelle. Thanks to her timely intervention I now know what a charger plate is. Whew! I almost went through my whole life without knowing the glory and wonder that is a charger plate.

***

Perhaps I bought myself a new camera that shoots in HD and has a ridiculous amount of Mega Pixels. I would like to think that said extravagence is an early Christmas gift. But it’s for the family right? Because everyone can enjoy great quality videos and pictures. Right??

***

The Christmas decorations are up and we are ready for early Christmas. The kiddos still have no clue that the Army Man is on his way home. He should be here sometime on Tuesday the 30th. I promise to use my new powerful, shoots in HD, camera to capture the moment when Daddy and the kids are reunited. (Let’s all blubber like babies together, shall we?)

p.s. There might be a true dearth of blogging after the Army Man gets home. Somehow I’m sure you will all carry on. Just in case… Merry Christmas!!

 

 

9 thoughts on “Home for the Holidays

  1. Tobi your table setting is absolutely gorgeous. There’s something about a beautiful table setting that makes any meal special and delicious. I’ve brined a turkey breast before but not a whole turkey, I’ll have to give it a try next year, thanks for the link. I’m proud of you girl and your mad cooking and table decorating skills….”you’ve come a long way baby.”

    I hope the next couple of weeks are enjoyable for all, I’ll be thinking of you.

  2. What happened to that Turkey was just that we ATE it all really fast. I don’t blame you for not putting up pix of all of us pigging out like that. My blood sugar was 510! Could not be helped. I did entertain the troops for it.
    Can not wait for Christmas with the main man.
    Do not forget the video of the two main reasons for the early Christmas.

  3. Tobi
    Enjoy you and yours for the next few weeks it will go way too fast. Have great holidays and we will hear from you later
    Merry Christmas
    Shelia & Jim

  4. Your table IS lovely. πŸ™‚ I was charger clueless until a few years ago when I hosted thanksgiving at my house. Who knew?! They make the table so pretty!

    I am so thrilled for your family… take lots of good pictures, and for goodness sakes, don’t blog at all!

  5. I would be too afraid to eat and drink off those pretty table settings. Too pretty!
    So excited for your kiddos! Moments of pure joy need to be captured on pics with high pixels, so you are totally justified in your new camera purchase. πŸ˜‰ Whadja git?!

    • Mindy-

      Thanks for helping me not feel guilty about my big purchase. I bought a Sony Cyber-shot H55. It has 14 Mega Pixels. All the pictures from this post were taken with my new camera. I really like it. A lot. =)

Make my day by commenting here!

