Stealthy Mommy Mode

It’s not that I don’t love you dear bloggers. It’s not that I’m uninterested in what’s going on in your corner on the blogosphere. I’ve been a little lame on the commenting front. It’s just that I have more projects and more items on my to do list than ever before. I’m finding it difficult to juggle and maintain a semblance of a life or a regular sleep pattern.

You see The Army Man is coming home in 26 days. We are celebrating Christmas early this year. December 11th to be exact. Dude and Princess are unaware that Dad is coming home for two weeks of vacation. SHHHHH!! It’s a surprise.

Which is super exciting. But….you knew there was a but coming….this steps up my timetable for Christmas exponentially. This means that I must accomplish present buying, Christmas cards, a letter to accompany my card, the making of Christmas gifts, and I have to do all of it without the kids figuring out what I’m up to. Or letting it slip that the Army Man will be coming home for Christmas. Say it with me, “Stealthy Mommy Mode, GO GO GO!”

Oh and let’s not forget that Thanksgiving dinner is at my house this year. Yes relatives will be flocking to my abode for a good gobbler. Cross your fingers for me.

In the meantime let me recap what our little family has been up to. We had a fantastic Halloween at my church. They had games, a science lab with a brain made of jello and a hay ride.

The Red Dragon and the Damsel in Distress

Dude and Princess and four of their cousins

My Nephew the sack-boy

My Mom made this costume for my nephew. Isn’t she so talented? He is a sack-boy from the PS3 video game Little Big Planet.

Every year my church has a Chili Cook Off for our Halloween party. This year there were 50 entries!! Guess who won? ME ME ME!! Although I have to admit that I shamelessly used a recipe from the Food Network. It’s my absolute favorite Chili recipe.

I finally found my hacksaw and my hatchet. Bonus! Perhaps this tools might be necessary to make Christmas gifts. I really can’t say.

Danger Will Robinson!

I made six flower clips. Since I haven’t wielded a hot glue gun in quite some time I managed to burn my finger. Naturally.

And last but not least. The wonderful and amazing Kernal Ken gave me an Airborne pin and a certificate for completing my Airborne course. My official new moniker is jumper one zero. LOVE IT!

 

10 thoughts on “Stealthy Mommy Mode

  1. Wow, you are one busy women! So exciting that Joel will be here for early Christmas—Alec and Cora are going to flip! Congrats on winning the Chili cookoff—I am totally impressed and definitely going to try the chili recipe!

  2. Hooray for R&R!!! That will be such an awesome surprise for the kids, and such a great thing for you πŸ™‚ Congratulations on winning the chili cook-off as well. I’ve actually been in the mood for chili lately, so I’ll have to give that recipe a try!

    And Disneyland next summer is a GREAT idea!!! It’d be so fun to meet up and play with you and your kids. My pass is blacked out from the middle of June to the middle of August but I really don’t mind because it’s so hot and crowded than anyway. (Hint hint–don’t go between the middle of June and middle of August! Haha.)

  3. Stealthy Mommy Mode? I couldn’t pull it off. I’m the worst secret keeper ever. Atleast when it comes to exciting stuff like this.

    So. I’m glad you like my idea. Question is, will you let me feature your family? Most respectfully, I promise… no last names, or locations, just a little bit about what it is your husband does, you have this many kids, you like to yodel in your spare time… just enough to help people see the people, not the politics. I can mention or not mention where your husband currently is… whatever you feel comfortable with. And I would love to include a picture. Please? Will you email me?

  4. Awwh, the kiddos are totally cute in costume. You are going to pull off one of the best surprises of their lives! Go momma go! Congrats on the chili, that is really impressive. You are certainly a woman of MANY talents!

  5. Glad you found the hacksaw and hatchet, I think you’ll need them to prepare Thanksgiving Dinner. You’re one busy woman, Go Tobi!

  6. Good luck with all the holiday craziness! But wonderful that The Army Man will be home!

    And I am DYING over the sack-boy costume! Could your mom make me one? πŸ™‚

  7. So what is the bowling ball for?
    The sack boy costume was easy, getting the bratty 14 year old to wear it was hard.
    The chili rocked. Thanks for letting us all tag along to your ward.

  8. I love everything about this post : D But I think I especially love the pic of you and your found tools. It rocks and should be your profile picture! It also rocks that you won the chili cook off. The recipe may not have originated with you, but you put it together and did the work so its as good as ; ) Much love and patience to you for hosting Thanksgiving and turning around to have an early Christmas two weeks later! Perhaps your guests can help you do the changeover as payment for the meal. And like everything else, I’m sure you will rock Stealthy Mommy Mode and kick some holiday surprise arse! GOOD LUCK!

Make my day by commenting here!

